04/18/24 at 21:12:12 

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Cerwin-Vega V-max's? (Read 32197 times)
djdj
Ex Member

Cerwin-Vega V-max's?
10/12/05 at 05:11:54

For mobile DJ (college parties) and club use, I was thinking of using Cerwin-Vega V-Max 12s or 15s. Would these still work even though they are for car use?

IP Logged
stvcmty
Ex Member

Re: Cerwin-Vega V-max's?
Reply #1 - 10/12/05 at 08:27:52

I use a profile J15 in the imperial I built, it works, and it is a car sub.  If you are going to be using it for bass only, it will work great.

Car subs do well to load the horn, but the front radiation on them is pretty useless compared to what they make come out of the horn.

Stv

IP Logged
djdj
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 10/12/05 at 17:01:43

I'm brand new to this whole speaker design. Should I wait then for the SO design that is coming up?

IP Logged
stvcmty
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 10/12/05 at 18:03:56

My thoughts on the SO:

It is an audiophile sub, not a PA sub.

If your goal is to get a lot of clean bass for a large concert or party, use the imperial as it is now.

If your goal is to fill a moderately sized listing room with bass, wait for the SO.

I may be completely wrong, but from what I gather from what Steve D has said about the SO, it uses the horn as a resonator rather than a traditional horn.

If the front of the SO was closed, I could see using it as a PA sub, however the slot that gives it well controlled exclusive bass through the horn mouth probably reduces the over all efficiency of the horn.

I see the horn on the imperial like a port, and the horn-resonator on the SO like a passive radiator.  Passive radiators are not traditionally used in PA applications because of the power involved, along with the amount of air being moved.  I don’t see a resonator horn being as efficient as a loaded horn.

Stv

To avoid a flame war: