Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
Decware Audio Forums
10/23/14 at 00:12:48

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Shunt attenuator in ZSLA-1 (Read 1779 times)
crazy bill the eel killer
Ex Member

Shunt attenuator in ZSLA-1
12/20/05 at 18:02:14

I've been looking at Welbournes remote controlled shunt attenuator for volume control and input selection. I know that both input and output impedance varies with attenuator position, but I've also read that it is usually not critical in most situations. I'm thinking of replacing the alps 100k pot in my ZSLA-1 with this unit. The max output impedance of my sources is 600 ohms. Anybody know the math on how the shunt numbers vary with attenuator position, and if this unit would work with the ZSLA-1. I'm thinking it shouldn't be a problem, as cathode followers have very high input impedances, but I'm just learning this stuff and I'm not sure. I'm also concerned about loading down the source. I would like to put a tant or Riken ohm in the series resistor if I can source the proper value.

As always, any help would be appreciated.

Bill                         Cheesy

IP Logged
Eli Duttman
Ex Member

Re: Shunt attenuator in ZSLA-1
Reply #1 - 12/21/05 at 02:04:58

Bill,

The rule of thumb is that the I/P impedance of a driven unit be at least 10X the O/P impedance of the driving unit.  Your 600 Ohm stuff will be OK into 10 KOhms.

Replace the stereo pot. in the ZSLA-1 with 120 KOhm fixed parts.

How are you going to plug the hole removing the pot. leaves?

44 bucks for a regulated (switching) 5 VDC PSU?  Not me.  A 12.6 V. CT filament trafo driving 2X Schottky diodes, filtered by a large 'lytic yields excellent "raw" DC.  A 7805 3 terminal regulator "locks" the voltage.  Follow the regulator IC with a 4.7 muF.  'lytic in close proximity.  A 2nd 4.7 muF. 'lytic inside the controller's housing finishes things off.