Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
A dual mono Zen? (Read 9583 times)
astro
Ex Member

A dual mono Zen?
12/09/05 at 13:52:54

Hi all!

I've been fascinated for some time now by the threads in this forum that praise the Zen SE84 (C/CS etc). I wanted to get one for myself but I'm afraid of a bad match as my speakers are JMR Twin and rated 91db, 4ohm with some complex crossover as the mid/bass driver uses two coils.
Also, I do love them and don't have any plan of replacing them.
I need more power and I saw that the Zen can be bridged to produce 5/6 watts as a monobloc.

Now, I'm not an electrician but I just had an idea:
since a Zen can be bridged into mono quite easily, will it be possibe to build (DIY project) a dual-mono Zen?
This is my idea:
In a single enclosure, build two Zens with the following modifications:
1. Instead of 2 OPTs per channel (bridged), install one.
2. Instead of 2 power supply circuits, build just one with a "stronger" power transformer.
3. One pot, one set of input jacks etc.
So you'll have one power transformer with one rectifier, two input tubes (one for each channel), 4 power tubes (two for each channel) and two OPTs (one for each channel) giving you 5-6 wpc.

Again, as I'm not an electrician I don't know if it's possible, but I do have a feeling it is.

What do you think? Is this doable?

Astro

IP Logged
Eli Duttman
Ex Member

Re: A dual mono Zen?
Reply #1 - 12/09/05 at 15:52:13

A single O/P trafo/channel changes EVERYTHING.  You no longer have a SE amp; you have a PP amp.

Building a "beefier" PSU is definitely doable.

BTW, 8 WPC is about right for 94 dB. efficient speakers.  Your speakers need 16+ WPC.

« Last Edit: 12/09/05 at 15:59:22 by Eli_Duttman »  
  IP Logged
Yoda
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 12/09/05 at 16:08:44

You may want to look at one of decwares push pull amps like the Taboo or an el34 based amp like the SE34I for those speakers.

« Last Edit: 12/09/05 at 16:09:12 by Yoda »  
  IP Logged
Microbe Man
Ex Member