11/26/14 at 01:37:58

Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
SE84C-EX Hum (Read 12270 times)
144cubits
Ex Member

SE84C-EX Hum
01/14/05 at 16:55:38

My EX was finally hooked up yesterday after a series of mishaps for which Steve Deckert was most accomodating. As I excitedly popped in the rectifier tube and flipped the switch. My excitement turned to dismay as a very audible hum was heard both from the speakers ( at a distance of 7 feet) and the amp itself?!  :'(

Now I am not technical whatsoever so I do need some very rudimentary (talk to me like I'm a 10 year old) instructions to try to eliminate this very distracting buzz.

I've left a message for Steve but was hoping you guys could help a new member of the family out!

I covet your suggestions.

Fred

IP Logged
nodiak
Ex Member

Re: SE84C-EX Hum
Reply #1 - 01/14/05 at 17:24:06

oh man, say it isn't so! This problem seems to be hit and miss from those that have the ex mod. I'm expecting my C back from decware soon, after having the ex mod. A loud hum would be very disappointing. I know zip about this but there has to be a solution...right? Don

IP Logged
Gary_H.
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 01/14/05 at 18:33:48

Try the link below of Stev's paper on hum problems.

http://www.decware.com/newsite/mainmenu.htm

If the link dosn't work go to the Articles section of the main menu and see the Hum Problems article.

I hope you find an answer there.

Gary

IP Logged
selmerdave
Ex Member

Reply #3 - 01/14/05 at 18:34:32

What do you mean by mishaps?  Obviously something is wrong.

Dave

IP Logged
dc007
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 01/14/05 at 19:01:49

welcome Fred...
I too have noticed a more noticeable hum from my EX C, however it is not distracting and does not interfere with the music at all but still in a dead quiet room you do notice it at about 2 feet.